Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Three Years

I can't believe it, but today T and I are celebrating our 3 year anniversary. This morning I was being nostalgic and looking through all of our wedding photos, and it occurred to me that I never really shared many wedding photos on the here.  I think I was in a blogging slump right around the time we received our photos.


 I'm sure every married couple says the same thing, but our wedding was one of the best nights of our lives. We got married in the heart of Greenville at our favorite restaurant The Lazy Goat. We rented out the whole place and had the ceremony upstairs and the reception downstairs. Downtown Greenville provided the perfect backdrop for all of our photos, and for our ceremony we stood in front of big windows overlooking the Reedy River.













The reception was very rustic feeling with long wood tables, muted tones, and mismatched chairs.  We were also able to use my grandparents' cake topper from the 40's, which I loved. But once it turned dark, the party started. We got really lucky with our band. We'd never even heard them play before, but they set the tone for the entire evening. They even let my dad have a turn on the drums. The dance floor was packed until it was time to go, and as parting gifts to our guests we served McDonalds cheeseburgers.



















Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Roast Beef Tasties

I made a few appetizers for people to munch on at our party this weekend.  I knew I'd be running around the house like a mad woman that afternoon, so I planned on making a couple things that came together quickly and could be prepared ahead of time.  One of the appetizers I made were these little roast beef sandwiches, and they were such a hit.


Ingredients:

2 packages dinner rolls (I used Hawaiian)
2/3 cup peach preserves
1/2 cup mustard-mayonnaise blend
1 lb thinly sliced deli roast beef, cut into strips
1/2 lb thinly sliced Havarti
1/2 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions:

1. Heat walnuts in small nonstick skillet over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, 5 to 6 minutes or until lightly toasted.
2. Remove rolls from packages, but do not separate rolls.  Cut rolls in half horizontally, creating 1 top and 1 bottom per package. Lay the bottom layer into a 13x9 glass baking dish. Spread preserves on cut side of top of rolls; sprinkle with walnuts.  Spread mustard-mayo blend on cut sides of bottom rolls; top with beef and cheese.  Cover with top halves of rolls, preserves sides down, and wrap in aluminum foil.
3. Bake at 325 for 25 to 30 minutes or until cheese is melted. Slice into individual sandwiches.

Sandwiches are also able to be made ahead.  Just prepare through step 2 and freeze up to one month. To thaw, put in the refrigerator overnight and then bake as directed.  They can also be assembled and refrigerated for several hours ahead before baking.


I loved that they were so easy to pick up and eat, just the right size for two or three bites. The combination of the sweet preserves with the roast beef was so tasty, too.

And as a side note, I love these little Kate Spade Party Plates.  They're the perfect size for appetizers, and they can easily be used for dressy or casual occasions. We received 8 as wedding gifts, and I've been slowly working to collect more for entertaining.


Monday, August 31, 2015

Our Weekend- 2nd Annual Tailgate Practice Party

This weekend T and I threw our first party at our new house.  A little aggressive considering we've only had two weekends at home since we moved in.  Fifteen minutes before people arrived I was hunched down in the bathroom drilling the toilet paper holder into the wall.  We cut it that close.

Even though the house isn't 100% where we want it to be, it was a great motivator to do a lot of the initial improvements that we wanted to get done.  We had about 40 friends over for our second annual Tailgate Practice Party.  (See pictures from the first annual here.)  Last year I was able to decorate our house with cute game day decorations, but this year that just wasn't happening.

Everyone came over donning their favorite team colors, we served tailgate food all day, streamed some of last year's biggest games, and even drove our car into our yard to set up a car tailgate.  T clearly wanted the full tailgating experience.  My mom and dad came up for the party, which was great.  They hadn't seen our new house yet since we just moved in a little over a month ago.  T and  I had the best time showing them around our new part of town and neighborhood.









College football season officially starts this week and T is like a kid at Christmas. Poor boy hasn't gotten a full nights sleep in a week.  I hope y'all had a great weekend, too! 


Thursday, August 27, 2015

What's in My Makeup Bag



I get so much of my makeup inspiration from blog reviews these days.  I rarely ever try a product out anymore unless I've read a few reviews on it.  Growing up, my mom was an Avon lady, so the majority of the makeup that I used was either drugstore brand or Avon.   I've branched out a bit since I've gotten older, and I now use some nicer brands of face makeup, but I still love my good ole drugstore stuff.  Here's what's currently in my makeup bag:




For Face: 


If I can really tell a difference, I'm all for spending good money on makeup.  Every year on my birthday I treat myself to a few new pieces of the good stuff, and it usually will last me until the the next birthday.  This March I purchased a Smashbox face powder and a NARS bronzer, and I'm just now half way done with them.  I'm also still working on the same NARS blush that I purchased over two years ago.  

When I was in high school, I also purchased two Chanel makeup brushes, one for blush and one for powder.  I've taken care of them, making sure to wash them frequently, and they feel and work just as good as they did when I got them over 10 years ago. They're definitely not cheap, totally worth it in the long run.

For Eyes: 


For eye makeup I tend to go a little cheaper.  The only thing that I do spend money on is an eye shadow primer, and it's worth every penny.  This primer can make any eye shadow stay on all day long, and one tube of it will last forever.  I use it every single day, and it still takes me over a year to use it up.  I've really been enjoying two E.L.F. eye shadow quads that came from Target, too.  You just can't beat the price.  


And that's what's in my makeup bag!  Nothing earth shattering, I really just stick to the basics.  Do you have any products that you can't live without?  I'd love to hear them!

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Saffron Rice and Black Beans

On Saturday, T and I went to our first neighborhood party since we've moved.   One of the reasons we picked our neighborhood was because we already know several couples that live there.  As dorky as it sounds, I was so excited that we got an invite!  While we do know people there, I wasn't sure if they'd remember to add us to the invite list since we are so new.

The party was Mexican themed, and we were all asked to bring a Mexican side dish.  At first my mind went to the typical Mexican side dishes, Seven Layer Dip, Guacamole, Bean Dip, etc.  But I wanted to bring something that was a little bit different than the usual suspects.  I found a recipe for Saffron Rice and Black Beans that didn't call for too many ingredients, and went together pretty quickly.  T and I were painting ALL DAY Saturday, so I had very little time to prepare something.



Saffron Rice and Black Beans
(serves 4- I doubled the recipe for the party)

1 (5 oz) package saffron rice mix
1 (15 oz) can black beans
1 lime, juiced
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp ground cumin
2 Tbsp chopped fresh cilantro, divided
1 Tbsp chopped green onions (optional)

Cook rice according to package directions.  Once cooked, reduce heat to medium.

While the rice is cooking, drain beans, reserving 2 Tbsp of the liquid.

Combine beans, reserved liquid, lime juice, chili powder, and cumin in the sauce pan with the cooked rice.

Stir until combined and thoroughly heated.  Add 1 tbsp cilantro.

Garnish with remaining cilantro and green onions.





I've had a few other yellow rice and black bean dishes before, but this one blew them out of the water.  T and I both love lime juice, and this recipe called for a lot of it. In all honesty, I didn't add the cilantro this time, our grocery store just happened to be out of it.  T liked it without, but I can't wait to make it again to see how the cilantro adds to the dish.  I plan for us to have tacos next week and give it another go.

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Week at The Beach

Take me back to vacation, now please.  Last week I spent six glorious days on the beaches of North Carolina, and I'd consider selling my soul to be back there right now.  On Saturday, we attended my cousin's wedding in Southport (more on that later) and then spent the rest of the weekend at Oak Island.

It's been years since our whole family rented a beach house together.  We can never get our schedules to line up with everything we've got going on.  Throughout the week people trickled in and out depending on their schedules, and the last two days it was just me, my mom, my sister April, and her daughter Camille.

I know I'm super biased, but seriously my niece is the cutest thing I've ever seen.  She's the first grand baby in the family, so naturally all eyes go to her when she's in a room.   Camille also learned my  name while we were there, and would scream "yaya!" any time I walked in to the room.  Melt my heart.

Some of the highlights from the week were dinner out at the Provision Company in Southport, family time on the beach, lunch at Shagger Jacks, and an unnecessary amount of baby photoshoots.



















Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...